Newly formed Trial Advocacy Board Induction and Pinning Ceremony, October 12

Sixteen third-year students were inducted in the newly formed SULC Trial Advocacy Board on October 12.   Featured speakers included SU System Board member Antonio “Tony” Clayton, ’91, and Chancellor Emeritus B. K. Agnihotri.
The board’s mission is to help students develop and enhance their trial skills and promote “excellency in advocacy.” “For students who want to pursue advocacy or trial-based careers, this board will enhance their experience by giving them training and practice in mock competitions inside and outside of the school,” said Trasaya Gaines, secretary of the new trial board.
Gaines believes the Trial Advocacy Board will provide real-world advantages to those members when practicing in the real world.  In addition to Gaines, the inductees included Charletta Anderson, John Blanchard, Brooklyn Brewer, Barbara Pilat (president), Daniel Conway, Jeremy Guillory, Tiara Jones (vice president), Veronika Mark, Ericka Richoux, Shirlise Rivera, Idiongo Sampson, Gregory Stahlnecker (treasurer), Georgina Stephenson, Brittany Tassin, and Christine Wells.
Board members were selected by SULC’s trial advocacy professors. As part of the ceremony, the students were pinned by the professors who recommended them. The board’s first competition will be held in spring 2016. Board members will also participate in trial training workshops, networking, and community-service events.
Pictured standing, from left: Brittany Tassin, Shirlise Rivera, Veronika Mark, Trasaya Gaines, Brooklyn Brewer, John Blanchard, Daniel Conway, Gregory Stahlnecker, Charletta Anderson, Ericka Richoux, Georgina Stephenson, and Christine Wells; seated, from left: Barbara Pilat, board adviser Shenequa Grey, and Tiara Jones. Not pictured: Jeremy Guillory and Idionga Sampson.