SULC Hooding Ceremony set for January 12

A  Fall 2017 graduates of the Southern University Law Center (SULC) will be recognized in a Hooding Ceremony at 6 p.m., Friday, January 12, 2018, in the Cotillion Ballroom of the Smith-Brown Memorial Student Union on the Southern University Baton Rouge campus.

The Honorable Patrick D. Magee, ’04, who represents the Third Congressional District on the Southern University Board of Supervisors and who practice as an attorney with the law firm Voorhies & Labbe in Lafayette, will be the featured speaker at the ceremony.

He is a member of the Lafayette Bar Association where he serves on the Board of Directors, and the Louisiana State Bar Association. Attorney Magee also serves as Chairman of the Lafayette Parish Trust Finance Authority, a member of One Acadiana (the Acadiana Regional Chamber of Commerce), and a member of the regional Asian Chamber of Commerce.

This special Hooding Ceremony does not take the place of Commencement. All graduates will also have their degrees conferred at Spring Commencement.

The 26 candidates for the Juris Doctor Degree are:

Andrew Joseph Barnes, Houston, Texas

Kenneth Blackson, Winnsboro, Louisiana

Marquita Andrea Cage, Hammond, Louisiana

Alyssa Lucea Collara, New Orleans, Louisiana

Charles Scott Courrege, Bay St. Louis, Mississippi

Shanice Aunshel Crawford, Marshall, Texas

Claire Elizabeth Donovan, New Orleans, Louisiana

Tevoy Ital Dyson, Franklinton, Louisiana

Franchester Pearlette Gipson, Cullen, Louisiana

Devin Marcus Guidry, Breaux Bridge, Louisiana

Brandy Nicole Guillory, Eunice, Louisiana

Michael Jones, Jr., Houma, Louisiana

Jeffrey Michael Keating, Slidell, Louisiana

Theodore Knatt, Jr., Loreauville, Louisiana

Yaves Stevenson Landry, St. James, Louisiana

Tajh Mathews, Baldwin, Louisiana

Robin K. Mitchell, Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Jermeshia Shantel Moseley, Grand Bay, Alabama

Avery M. Riley, Jr., Belle Chase, Louisiana

Ivan James Thompson, Houma, Louisiana

Efiori J. Umana, Tyler, Texas

Jonathan Stanford Vidrine, Eunice, Louisiana

Tyralynn J. Wells, New Orleans, Louisiana

Mareshah Lenise Wheeler, Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Olivia Rochelle Williams, Jackson, Mississippi

Rufus Williams, Jr., Jackson, Mississippi

For more information on this ceremony, please contact D’Andrea Joshua Lee, director of records and registration, (225) 771-5340.